Beetle Letter Replies!

About Beetle & the Hollowbones

An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall—perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.

In the eerie town of ‘Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while other people have their spirits trapped in the mall for all ghastly eternity.

Then there’s twelve-year-old goblin-witch Beetle, who’s caught in between. She’d rather skip being homeschooled completely and spend time with her best friend, Blob Glost. But the mall is getting boring, and B.G. is cursed to haunt it, tethered there by some unseen force. And now Beetle’s old best friend, Kat, is back in town for a sorcery apprenticeship with her Aunt Hollowbone. Kat is everything Beetle wants to be: beautiful, cool, great at magic, and kind of famous online. Beetle’s quickly being left in the dust.

But Kat’s mentor has set her own vile scheme in motion. If Blob Ghost doesn’t escape the mall soon, their afterlife might be coming to a very sticky end. Now, Beetle has less than a week to rescue her best ghost, encourage Kat to stand up for herself, and confront the magic she’s been avoiding for far too long. And hopefully ride a broom without crashing.

Aliza Layne's website

for readers of all ages

Now Available Online,

or Ask for Beetle at Your

Local Bookstore!

Image gallery

To Aiden the want-to-be Sorceress:

Your original character sounds like the coolest! Golo the skeleton goblin lives forever!! I've had so many nights staying up until 3AM reading a book, and it means a lot to me that you did that with Beetle. It sounds like you have lots in common with Beetle too, not just in the kind of cartoons and comics you like; you're also both really creative and you both know what you want. That's so admirable! 

Thank you so much for sending me a letter! 

All the best in the world,

Aliza